The Desford Colliery Band is considered one of the finest exponents of the brass medium. Its wide range of styles and flexibility of performance has bought it world-wide fame. This British Band comprises of twenty-five brass musicians with percussion and performs a repertoire spanning Baroque to Jazz, its soloists some of the finest you will hear.

Founded in 1898 the band has a colourful and interesting history. In 1912 the band engaged its first professional musical director Mr Albert Lawson, who made the twice- weekly trip to their rehearsal base in Leicester by horse and trap. The band steadily flourished until the outbreak of the First World War in 1914 when the musicians were sent to the trenches. They regrouped at the end of the war to win a host of gold medals and become the most successful band in the Midlands. The Second World War again called a halt to their activities. When the band reformed they were faced with an urgent need to replace dilapidated instruments and in 1956 the band was assisted by the Coal Industry Social Welfare Organisation. Because of this and the fact that at the time the majority of musicians were miners, the band was renamed the Desford Colliery Band. Progress continued under various conductors and to date the band has enjoyed legendary success winning no less that thirty-five championship titles.

Desford has achieved great popularity and success as an ambassador for British Culture and heritage abroad. Accolades have been received from Moscow, Chicago, Singapore, Bangkok, and many European Capitals. The ensemble is in demand at many festivals across the globe.

The Desford Colliery Band has recorded many CDs gaining much critical acclaim.  More recently they starred in their very own  hit  televison show ‘The Real Brassed Off’ ; a fly on the wall documentary series which portrayed the day to day running of a brass band in modern Britain. The show was received to great acclaim.

Roll of Honour

Midlands Regional Champions - 1976, 1977, 1982, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1995, 1998,
2000, 2002, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2019, 2022
National Champions - 1987, 1988, 1989, 1991
European Champions - 1986
World Music Contest Champions - 1997
International Masters Champions - 2008
Granada Band of the Year Champions - 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986
Brass in Concert Champions - 1982, 1984, 1985
Butlins Mineworkers Champions - 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2019